Osgoode Hall is a heritage building located at 130 Queen
Street West, Toronto, Ontario. This historic site is the focus
for legal activity in Ontario and has garnered attention for
over 170 years. Osgoode Hall occupies six acres and was
acquired by the Law Society of Upper Canada in 1829. The
name Osgoode Hall honours William Osgoode the first Chief
Justice of the province. Osgoode Hall withstood more than ten
major restorations. The front facade maintained its originality
and is basically unaltered to reflect the 1860 design.
The interior of Osgoode Hall possesses unique architectural
achievements. The heritage courtrooms are from the late
1800's. Convocation Hall boasts ten gorgeous stained glass
heraldic windows covering 4,000 years of law. The Great
Library touted as the most beautiful room in Canada has
an intricate ceiling, cork floors and triple cube design. The
rotunda is spectacular from the original tiling on the floor
to the elegant arched pillars surrounded by elaborate oil
paintings of former Chief Justices of the Province.
Since 1840 Osgoode Hall has been co-owned by the Ontario
Government and the Law Society. The Court of Appeal for
Ontario, the Superior Court Of Justice and the Law Society
of Upper Canada currently reside at Osgoode Hall.
Osgoode Hall Dining Room: The Osgoode Hall restaurant is
located in Osgoode Hall at 130 Queen Street West. Please
to learn more and book your reservation today.